Come Here Rude Boy…

11Feb10

Yasss! This song is my favorite off of Rihanna‘s Rated R album. When I first heard this, I said “THIS is the Rihanna who came out with “Pon De Replay”, as an innocent Caribbean girl repping her island”! When Rihanna first came out, I was a very big fan, partly because I was from the islands as well and was glad there was a young girl who I could relate to holding us down on the map.Then things changed, and she became Pop and commercialized, and I jumped off the ban wagon. She’s back though, reminding all who forgot “Mih a bad gyal from Barbados”. You best werk!

I usually don’t post music videos unless the fashion has me like “whoa!”, and that hasn’t changed. This video I really love because Mariel and Rob took it back to her (and my) roots. The costume’s are very reminiscent to a true dance hall queen who is always frequenting a bashment party in her best outfit shipped to her from her family in Farin (which is what us Caribbean folks call America). The hat, the earrings, the cat suits, the red, green, and yellow tassel skirt, loving all of it!

“Come here Rude Boy, boy can you get it up?”

This is definitely a combination of Rihanna then and now, and I love it! If this song & video doesn’t shoot to number 1, I’m going to… to… to… I don’t know yet, but I’ll be pretty upset!



No Responses Yet to “Come Here Rude Boy…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

