2009 American Music Awards- Red Carpet

23Nov09

While I missed the red carpet coverage, I did tune into the show, which for the most part flopped this year. My highlights we’re definitely Jay-Z & Alicia Keys‘ performance of “Empire State Of Mind”, Whitney Houston‘s performance of “I Didn’t Know My Strength”, Black Eyed Peas‘ performance, Rihanna‘s performance, and Janet Jackson‘s medley. Adam Lambert had my mouth open throughout his whole performance (whoa!) But for the most part, I was disappointed. WTF was J. Lo doing anyway? Boo! Anywho, just when I thought the red carpet would cheer me up, that slightly disappointed too:

Fergie Fer sparkled in a strapless Girogio Armani dress, giving us a little leg action. Love this edgy, but still simplistic look on her. HIT

Shakira rocked this Versace mini-dress, but kept the accessories to a minimum. I would loved to see her up the jewelry factor. Still a cute look for her though. HIT

Rihanna rocked a carefully constructed Marchesa dress. Not liking this look… at all! I usually love Rih Rih’s red carpet looks, or any looks, but this was a MISS for me. Womp.

Alicia Keys looked gorgeous(!!!) in this multi-colored, beaded detail strapless Giorgio Armani dress. She chose to match her shoes with her dress (tricky!) with these Christian Louboutin sandals. HIT

My fellow Aries, Leona Lewis, bored me- per usual. She rocked this black Vivienne Westwood dress with double hemline and pointy bustline. Not liking this. It probably could have worked on someone else. MISS

Country cute Carrie Underwood looked plain old fab in this Theia dress. I really like this look on her. HIT

For more red carpet pics of Mary J. Blige, Jennifer  Lopez, Demi Lovato and many more

Mary J. Blige looked fab in this black gown with knot details. I especially love her hair! HIT

Keri Hilson played with the sequence trend in this black Lousie Goldin number. The long sleeve mini dress has always been a fave of mine. It’s playful, but still sexy. Hmm… did Keri lose weight? *side eye*

Selena Gomez looked stunning in this sequence Talbot Ruhnof dress! Love it on her. HIT

Demi Lovato looked peachy perfect in this Jenny Packham dress with jeweled neckline. Love the flirty layers too. HIT

Kelly Clarkson bored the hell out of me! She mistaken the sequenced/jeweled trend for bedazzlement circa 1995. Fine, I’ll give her more credit than that… 1997. MISS

Nicole Kidman hit the carpet with her hubby Keith Urban, rocking Balenciaga. I always get the same thing from Nicole, I’m going need for her to switch it up for me. HIT/MISS (not sure which one yet)

Melody Thornton came out in a long-sleeved Sass & Bide embellished mini and black Alexander McQueen booties. This looks like something you would wear to dinner with your friends. I like it, just not for the AMA’s. MISS

Kristen Bell looked young & classy in Christian Cota. Not my fave look of the night, but it’s a good look for Kristen. HIT

Jennifer Lopez looked GREAT in this feathered and embellished dress. What did you think? It’s J. Lo, she always looks great. Well….., HIT



2 Responses to “2009 American Music Awards- Red Carpet”

  1. MY misses:
    Shakira-that dress looks cheap
    Leona Lewis-she looks like she’s about to fly off, lol
    Mary-that dress was so OLD looking
    Kelly Clarkson-POOR THING, WTF?!
    Demi Lovato-that color didn’t do ANYTHING for her

    MY hits:
    Fergie
    Rihanna
    Alicia
    Carrie
    Keri-i LOVE her!
    Selena Gomez
    Nicole Kidman
    Melody Thornton
    Kristen Bell
    J.Lo-LOVE her dress!

  2. 2 Sarah Eshleman

    Carrie Underwood looked phenomenal. Selena Gomez looked gorgeous. Demi Lovato looked adorable. Fergie looked ah-mazing.

    I absolutely hate what Kelly Clarkson and Leona Lewis were trying to pull off.


Leave a Reply

