2009 Grammy Awards- Arrivals

09Feb09

The 51st Annual Grammy Awards went down last night at the Staples Center. While the red carpet this year was a tad blah and boring to me, I have to bring it to you regardless:

jhud-grammy

jhud-grammy1

Jennifer Hudson made her appearance in a RM by Roland Mouret trenet high neck dress and Christian Louboutin pumps. She looked fabulous, and the dress looked amazing on her. However, wasn’t feeling the pumps with this dress. Fab chick none the less. HIT

leona-grammy1

leona-grammy11

My fellow Aries, Leona Lewis, showed up in a nude Randi Rahm gown. Not really feeling the hair or the fit of the dress. Chick has a great body and she always seem to effortlessly lead us to believe otherwise.  MISS.

miley-grammy

Best dressed of the night, Miley Cyrus, hit the carpet in a Max Azria original. As she puts it, “he bedazzled it just for me”. Miley accessorized her look with a Max Azria Atelier bag, BCBG heels, and jewels from Mimi So and Atelier Swarovski. HIT

To see more Grammy red carpet coverage…..

miley-taylor-grammy

taylor-grammys

Miley arrived and kicked it with her good friend Taylor Swift, another one of my best dressed, in an ultra fine Italian tissue weight jersey dress from Kaufman Franco with wrap around patent leather strapping, Rene Caovilla shoes and Lorraine Schwartz jewels. They also stopped to take a quick flic with LL Col J: 

miley-taylor-grammy-ll

kim-grammy

kim-grammy1

The hostess with the mostess Kim Kardashian rocked a silvery-white Toni Maticevski mini dress with a short train in the back, Bochic jewels, and Christian Louboutin Fortuna platform pumps. Love the look, the hair, makeup, everything. Fab look for Ms. Kardashian indeed. HIT

carrie-grammy

carrie-grammy1

My fave country bad girl, Carrie Underwood, looked golden in a Zuhair Murad gown and Johnathan Amdt jewels. She looks amazing, perfect for the Grammys. HIT

keyshia-grammy

Keyshia Cole came out looking… umm… pretty? Not feeling this mini-dress with sheer covering over it at all. And this Damiani statement necklace did not make it better. MISS

chrisette-grammy

Chrisette Michelle looked fabulous dawling! Love the lace texture on the dress and those shoes are dope. HIT

katy-grammy

katy-grammy1

Katy Perry looked funky and fun in a bubble gum pink Basil Soda gown and H. Stern jewels. It’s a fab look for the always out there, and mostly always half naked Katy. HIT.

She also kicked it with mommy-to-be M.I.A.:

katy-mia-grammy

mis-grammy

M.I.A. rocked a Manish Arora dress and GOLA by Christian Lacroix sneakers. I would put it as a MISS, but we have come to expect this from her. BTW, the day of the Grammy’s was her due date. But I couldn’t tell by the way she was hopping up and down on stage. LoL.

jordin-grammy

jordin-grammy1

Jordin Sparks was puttin’ on for her city in an Arizona-based designer, Debra Davenport, gown and Damiani jewels. Chick looked fab and not corny as she usually does. HIT

letoya-grammy

letoya-grammy11

Letoya Luckett made an appearance on the red carpet in a fuchsia pink mini dress and Christian Louboutin sky blue pumps. Love the mix of color, the hair, the make-up. It all makes sense. HIT

fanny-grammy

fanny-grammy1

Fantasia wore a glittery blackish-silverish halter dress and Loree Rodkin jewels. While I love the hair and make-up, not loving the dress… on her. MISS

paula-grammy

paula-grammy1

Paula Abdul looked a hot-ass “I’m trying way too hard” mess in Basil Soda. The fabric was too much, the pleats was too much, and the shoulder and waist dress accessory was too much. MISS

paris-grammy

paris-grammy1

Paris Hilton looked like she confused the Grammy’s for Friday night at Les Deux in this 2003 Versace mini dress. MISS.

karina-grammy

Karina Pasian rocked a cute maxi dress, and looked fab while doing so. HIT

estelle-grammy

Estelle went space age on us, and I can’t say I’m loving it. At all. Although her make-up does look very nice. MISS

angvan-grammy

Angela Simmons, in an ivory mini dress and red pumps, and Vanessa Simmons, in a canary yellow asymmetrical dress and nude sandals, arrived looking fab. Loves it. HIT, for both girls.

janelle-grammy

Bad Boy’s new bad girl Janelle Monae showed up in her usual fun stuff. A tuxedo blazer, a Victorian blouse, jeans and riding boots. It’s a good look for her. HIT

solo-grammy

Solange left me disappointed. I’m so used to her coming hard on the red carpet, but she didn’t. I must admit, I do love the straightened hair look on her. But for lack of creativity, thus leading to disappointment, MISS.

natcole-grammy

A healthy Natalie Cole hit the carpet looking fabulous. HIT

Now, on to the couples:

ti-grammy

ti-grammy1

T.I. and Tiny came out. I was actually expecting T.I. to look a lot more dapper, while Tiny showed up in her usual Herve Leger. I actually like how it fit her this time. I also like how her curls fall. I must say though, I am sick and tired of the HL thing. If you gonna do it, at least kill it. For a couple effort, MISS.

robpaula-grammy

Robin Thick and Paula Patton made a cute couple in complimenting black looks, with Paula adding a splash of nude color. He looks dapper as all hell, and for a team effort they get a HIT. But Paula deserves to be looked at alone:

paulap-grammy

Love the fit, not loving the dress. MISS.

neyo-grammy

Ne-Yo hit the carpet with his girlfriend. While he looks good, she looks cheap. Damn Ne-Yo, you couldn’t just drop an extra $6,000 to have June Ambrose hook her up too? It wouldn’t hurt your pocket much. For the group effort, MISS.

snoopshante-grammy

Snoop Dogg and his wife Shante hit the carpet. First question, why is his pants crushed? And where is he going with those white rimmed glasses? As for Shante, I like the fact that she whipped out those Stella McCartney pumps I have had my eye on. I actually like her look and her make-up looks great. But for a group effort. MISS.

More Grammy coverage and solutions coming up….



4 Responses to “2009 Grammy Awards- Arrivals”

  1. Contrary to you, I love Paris Hilton’s outfit.
    I think that for once, her look is simple, smart and nice.

    And those colors fit her very well.

    [Sorry for my English, I’m French .. That’s why ! )

  2. i don’t think Taylor Swift has ever had a bad hair day in her entire life

  3. 3 Sarah Eshleman

    Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood always look beautiful, no matter what. I’d love to have their combined style.

  4. all I can say is I enjoyed it more than last years!


Leave a Reply

