2008 Primetime Emmy Awards- Red Carpet Arrivals

23Sep08

I know it took me a long time to get the Emmy post on & poppin’ but I’ll make it worth your while. I will be dedicating more posts of the red carpet fabness. In the mean time, check out my HITS & MISSES:

Cynthia Nixon went all the way into last season and pulled out this beautifully elegant Calvin Klein dress. HIT

Tina Fey (the big winner of the night- taking home 3) wore a very simple, a little too simple, David Meister dress. She won in the Emmy’s, but not on the carpet. Due to a lack of risk & creativity, she gets a MISS

Nicolette Sheridan stepped out and shut the whole show down in THEE color of the season in a strapless Angel Sanchez gown. HIT

The never aging Vanessa Williams looked fab in her Kevin Hall one shoulder dress. Can’t say I don’t love it. HIT

Terri Hatcher wore an ill-fitting canary yellow Monique Lhuillier dress. The ruffles were in the wrong places, and the dress hugged her in the wrong places. MISS

Eva Longoria-Parker took a risk with this bow front Marchesa dress. Marchesa is one of the most fabulous and instantly recognizable designers and one of my favorites. Work it Eva. HIT

For more Emmy Primetime fabness, and not so fab….

Felicity Huffman sparkled a little too much in this Reem Acra floor length dress. Hate the fit, and the sparkles were too heavy up top. Looks like a school project, you know the one where you pour glue on the paper and then turn the silver glitter upside down and let it dry? MISS

Marcia Cross pulled out the champagne before being seated, in this Elie Saab floral dress. Personally, I felt that the dress should have hit the floor but it’s still a HIT nonetheless.

Hot mama Brooke Shields went off in this Badgley Mischka number. LOVES IT! One of the best dressed of the evening. HIT

Sandra Oh covered up too much for my likings. Only arms? Seriously? This Oscar de la Renta dress did nothing for me– or her. MISS

Heidi Klum went out on a ledge and risked her whole life with this… and I LOVED IT! This Armani Prive dress worn with very daring Lorraine Schwartz butterfly earrings really hit the ball out the park. HIT

Hayden Panittiere put me to sleep in this simple body hugging Badgley Mischka dress. I-just-don’t-like-it. MISS

The Rachel Zoe styled Debra Messing really did it in this Monique Lhuillier dress. Love the color against her skin and it didn’t compete with her hair color. HIT

Breast cancer survivor Christina Applegate looked lovely in this Reem Acra gown. The Lorriane Shwartz jewelry played it’s position in this look and it came together great. HIT

Who you callin’ ugly? America Ferrera tapped into her vintage side with this look. The Vintage World dress, 19th Century Diamond necklace and the Veronica Lake inspired hair was great. She took a risk and although the bottom was over-poofed, the look came together great. HIT

Star of (one of) my favorite show, Mariska Hargitay, tapped into her bright side in this Carolina Herrera dress and the easy to miss split at the side really took a couple years off of her. Not that she’s old, but you know what I mean. HIT

Looks like Jennifer Love Hewitt was trying to make up for that prom she missed. Wrong award show to re-live that lost moment love. The waist was all wrong, the proportion was all wrong, the pattern was all wrong, everything was all wrong. Either your stylist don’t like you or Carolina Herrera didn’t make that for you. MISS

I don’t think anyone looked more uncomfortable, out of place and bad as Kate Walsh did. Obviously this Zuhair Murad dress is not the problem, boo-boo it’s you. Your too tall and not curvy enough to carry this out. The Neil Lane jewelry should have also been toned down because the dress was so sparkly. MISS

Lauren Conrad wore herself to the Emmy’s. I wonder how it feels to say that? “Who are you wearing?”… “Oh, me”. LoL. Loves it! With Lauren, I wasn’t expecting no badaboom. She’s a simple girl and I get that. Hate if you want, I love it. HIT

House star Olivia Wilde looked fab in this Reem Acra dress. At first glance, I thought it was Matthew Williamson, but I guess not. I love this look and it was a perfect fit. HIT

She had to have done this on purpose. Kathy Griffin looked horrible! MISS

Evangeline Lily looked amazing in this Elie Saab Haute Couture nude dress. FABULOUS! Nothing went wrong here. HIT

There you have it… my HITS and MISSES. Next up, Best & Worst Dressed



4 Responses to “2008 Primetime Emmy Awards- Red Carpet Arrivals”

  1. 1 Sarah Eshleman

    Lauren Conrad, Evangeline Lilly, Mariska Hargitay, and Debra Messing were the best dressed of the night.

  2. Hey there I came across your webpage by sheer luck, I was searching the net for Flooring Hawaii when I found your webpage, I must say your site is very interesting I just love the theme, its amazing! I don’t have the time at the moment to fully read through your blog but I have favorited it and also signed up for your RSS feeds. I will be back when I have more time. Thank you for a awesome blog.

  3. what would a girl ask for if not for a diamond necklace, diamond necklaces would always impress a girl`**


  1. 1 Absolutely love this dress-perfect cap sleeves and neckline @ wish-upon-a-weddingwish-upon-a-wedding

Leave a Reply

