BET Awards Red Carpet

25Jun08

Like I promised, I am all over the red carpet [well not literally] at the BET Awards. There were some hits and misses in the fashion department, as for the show… let’s just say I’m glad there wasn’t too much hype surrounding it. Check out the red carpet though:

Solange has definitely been on her fab game lately but she kind of lost me tonight. Everything she had on was actually very nice but she should have let at least one piece take center-piece, too many distractions here. The feathered clutch bag was fab, so was the dress but the shoes were too laid back and the feathers on the bag and prints on the dress were fighting for the spotlight. MISS

*screaming* KERI! What are you doing? What is this? This satin with sequence look is hurting my eyes and I think the sun is afraid to shine. The jumper was wrong, the blazer was wrong and those satin platform shoes were wrong. MISS!!!!

Lil Kim (who wore a Versace dress and a Louis Vuitton bag designed by Marc Jacobs) has been getting her act together lately and while this look wasn’t all the way fab, I appreciate the effort and I’ll let her slide. My only issue is, that damn wig! Sooo… HIT or MISS?? Help me!

MISS. I don’t even want to talk about it.

 

While I love Keyshia Cole, I don’t think I’m feeling this effect. Her stylist usually knows how to balance her proportions [she has big breast and no hips/butt/thighs] and put her in something that flatters her body and evens her out but she definitely must have been in a rush. The dress she performed in was BEAUTIFUL though! MISS

 

I see those wigs have become a staple in her wardrobe. Trina rocked this simple look with a monogram Louis Vuitton bag. I HATE monogram LV bags, like there is so much more out there! She has nice legs though.

For more coverage read below the cut…..

 

My girl Rihanna of course killed it in a Giambattista Valli gown [earlier I put Zac Posen, but I made a mistake], but did you expect any less? The most dynamic force in fashion as of know. Her glam squad is [in the words of Ashanti] BANANAS. HIT!!!!!!

That damn Wouri Vice I tell you! Alicia Keys looked amazing in a David Meister dress and Sergio Rossi shoes! He’s another stylist that’s good with proportion, and he never fails when it comes to emphasizing her curves while giving her tiny-teta’s a little umph. HIT (by the way, her rings say Love and Hate)

 

Singer* Cassie showed up looking very classy and simple in Vivian Westwood, it has no choice but to be a HIT.

 

Jennifer Hudson sucked it all in in a Cosette style dress. Love the color against her skin. HIT

 

I don’t think I have ever seen Jordin Sparkslook so good, maybe because I don’t pay attention? I don’t know, she looked fab though. HIT

 

The look is classic but somehow Tocarra messed it up. So I’m torn. HIT or MISS?

 

Lauren London hit the carpet in Givenchy shoes along with Cassie and ATL alumni Maleka

Gabrielle Union wore a goddess like white gown, not sure I’m living the fit too much. You can do so much better Gabrielle. HIT or MISS?

 

“Friends” Nelly and Ashanti showed up together of course. Love the dress on Ashanti, love the hair, love the makeup. Usually her make-up artist has her looking like Bozo the clown with too much color in that one area but she definitely calmed it down a bit. That’s a good look. HIT

 

Janelle Monae and Fonzworth Bentleyhas to be the flyest and funkiest people Diddy has ever kicked it with, besides his self. Love this chic Janelle. HIT for the both of them, with out even seeing them I know it’s an automatic hit.

 

Top Model diva Eva Pigford Marcille hit the carpet looking fabulous as usual, she never fails. Lobe the dress, love the bag, love the accessories and the shoes are played down and I love that. HIT, all the way.

 

Jill Marie Jones looked fab in her mini sequence dress and the shoes just worked perfectly. That’s the problem with a lot of these celebs. They just don’t know how to make the shoes work with the outfit. Go Jill. HIT

Okay people…. tell me what you think. Who did it? Who didn’t? Who should have tried harder? Who tried too hard? Hits? Misses? *sigh* Talk to me people.



One Response to “BET Awards Red Carpet”

  1. Toccara Jones is the Best. I love looking at pictures of her. She is my favorite celebrity


Leave a Reply

